Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Saturday , October 20 2018
Home / How to / Step By Step Tutorial To Delete Facebook Account Permanently

Step By Step Tutorial To Delete Facebook Account Permanently

If you’re looking to go on a Facebook detox, not just for a while, but forever, you have splashed down on the right site.

Why You May Want to Say Bye-Bye to Facebook:

Although Facebook came into existence to serve as a means to help people expand their social circles, reconnect with old friends, and very recently, spread the funny-virus that is memes, it has kind of turned into a marketing tool for businesses. Ads pop up all the time, affecting our overall experience. As if that weren’t enough, Facebook has also mimicked Snapchat’s story feature, reminding us about how less awesome our own lives are. But that’s not it! Remember the Cambridge Analytica scandal? If you’re not aware, the aforementioned company extracted personal data of as many as 87 million Facebook users via unethical means, in order to manipulate the 2016 U.S. elections. Meaning that our Facebook activity and other critical information is out there on sale, without our consent.

So whether you’re concerned about exposing your private information, or simply wish to take a break from the negativity and pressure that surrounds life on social media, we’ve got you covered.

The Deactivation Option:

Before we enlist the steps to delete your Facebook account permanently, we’d like you to know that Facebook does offer a feature known as “Account Deactivation”. Most of you are perhaps already familiar with it, but if you’re not, this option basically allows you to drop out of Facebook on a temporary basis. Once you opt for this feature, Facebook will disable your profile, your name, and the pictures that you have shared. Note that a few things such as messages will still be visible to your friends.

Its worth considering account deactivation if the reason you want to do it is because your account has been hacked, feel that the platform isn’t very useful, end up spending a large chunk of your time on Facebook, or just need a break from all the mindless scrolling.

Here’s how you can deactivate your Facebook account –

  • Go to Settings>>Security and Login
  • Scroll down to the bottom of the screen
  • Select “Deactivate”
  • Then, choose your reason for deactivating and hit the “Deactivate” button to confirm.

Note that you can reactivate your Facebook account simply by logging in with your old user name and password. And just like that, your entire profile will be stored!

The reason why we have mentioned this alternative is because deleting your Facebook account can cause you to lose all the data on your account, from your profile to your photos to your friends list to everything you have ever shared, except for the chat history. And once you delete your account, there’s no way to reverse it.

However, if you’re completely sure about the same, proceed to the next section.

delete facebook account permanently

Deleting Your Facebook Account Permanently:

We’d like to remind you that as per the current trends, bidding adieu to your Facebook account can cost you some really good professional opportunities. Moreover, it could also cost you a few friendships because like it or not, Facebook is a convenient mode of keeping in touch for most. But all that aside, if you’re still certain about dumping the service, continue reading.

The process of deleting your account may seem straightforward, but in reality, it isn’t as simple as hitting the “Delete Account” button. There are several other steps that you must follow in order to ensure no loss of data while exiting safely and securely. Here’s what you need to do –

  1. Backup All Your Facebook Data: Its advisable to make a copy of all the data that exists on your Facebook account, especially your photos. To do this, you must first log in to your account, navigate to Menu (located on the top right corner), and go to Settings. From there, click on the “Download a Copy of your Facebook Data” option. You’ll see the “Start My Archive” button; click it and press “OK”. This will automatically fetch an archive of all your data including shared posts, videos, and photos. It’ll also enable you to download all your conversations, plus the “About” section under your profile. Once the archive is ready to be copied, Facebook will notify you via email.download a copy of data
  2. Erase Facebook History: You might want to wipe off any of your recent comments or posts, especially if your account is one that’s inculpating. This is because Facebook takes about two weeks to clear all this information despite deleting the account. You can start by signing in to your account. Then, tap on your Account name and hit the “Arrow” icon next to the post you wish to take down, and click on “Delete” from the drop-down menu.delete facebook posts
  3. Remove Your Photos: Even though account deletion will automatically get rid of your photos, its best that you manually delete your pictures to keep that concern out of your way. However, keep in mind that you can only remove those photos which you have uploaded yourself.

Firstly, log in to your account, click on your profile name, and go to Photos. After that, hit the “Edit or Remove” option displayed next to a photo, and select “Remove this photo”. Click on “Confirm”. To un-tag yourself from pictures uploaded by others, click on your name>>Photos of You>>Edit or Remove>>Remove/Report Tag. Select either “I want to un-tag myself” and/or check the “I want this photo removed from Facebook” option. You’ll be prompted to pick a reason for doing so, click a suitable reason and press “Continue”.

  1. Modify Your Profile Name: As you may already know, Facebook takes some time to erase information such as your name and other data. If you want it gone ASAP, the easiest thing to do is change it (since removing it manually isn’t an option). To do this, find the “Arrow” key to the top-right corner of your Facebook screen and go to “Settings”. Then, go to “Edit”, displayed adjacent to your name. Enter whatever you deem fit, type in your password, and save the changes. Go back to your profile, bring the curser over your profile photo, select the “Update Profile Picture” option and hit the “Remove” button.click on edit name
  2. Delete Facebook Account: Finally, its time to delete your account. Follow the steps mentioned below –

delete facebook account

Things to Remember Before Deleting Facebook Account:

Here are a few pointers that you must keep in mind before getting rid of the social media giant –

  • It may take up to 90 days to fully complete the process of deleting your account including data such as posts, comments, photos, videos, messages, etc.
  • Your profile will not be visible to other users
  • Certain text messages or privately shared media may still remain.

More Similar Tutorials:

Conclusion:

We apologize for the length of this article despite the “simple” subject. However, deleting a Facebook account is a crucial choice and may have a big impact on your life. Whatever you choose, whether to deactivate or delete, make sure that you think it through since the latter is irreversible. Hope that this article helped!

Source

Check Also

Step By Step Tutorial To Find Out Who Super Liked You On Tinder?

The Netflix of the dating world, Tinder has gone from being just a regular dating …

Top 11 Best Call Recorder Apps For Android (Our Favourite)

Call recording isn’t just to have some evidence on your stalker or ex-love interest. Not …